Extreme Gaming – How Are You Playing Life?

Angels In The Realm

I’m imagining how it might have been for me before I was born.  I’m thinking about that part of myself that existed before I was conceived and will continue to do so after this body has died.

That’s where many people start to feel uncomfortable.  We’re pretty ‘earthy’ beings right at the moment, and we find it hard to imagine that part of us called ‘spirit’ or ‘higher self’ or ‘soul’ or whatever.

Personally, I don’t imagine fluffy clouds, harp-strumming angels or dressing all in white.  The ‘eternal me’ I’m imagining simply can’t wait for another shot at the greatest game in all of existence – the one called ‘Life’.

So here I am, queuing up with all the other hopefuls, having decided what sort of game I’d like to play this time around.  Maybe I’m going to try being impoverished, powerful, handicapped, abandoned…  Maybe I want to create music, build structures, explore the sciences, teach…  Maybe this is a totally new venture for me, or perhaps I’m going to have another go at something I tried once before – something I’d like to develop further.

Whatever choices I’ve made, I can’t predict the outcome.  I have a game plan, if you like, but The Game is notoriously unpredictable.

And whatever choices I’ve made, the aim is always the same: to gain all the experience I can lay my hands on and to find ways to sneak as much of my soul/spirit/eternal self into The Game as possible.  Put simply, that means to bring light and energy into the world.

Now I’m shuffling towards the front end of the queue.  It’s rather like when you travel by plane; no matter how many times you’ve done it before, you still have to sit through the safety information.

Once upon a time, Rumpelstiltskin

I’m imagining this being delivered by someone like Richard O’Brien when he fronted The Crystal Maze  (for British readers who remember that amazing show) or maybe Robert Carlisle as Rumplestiltskin in Once Upon A Time…

Anyhow, our guide is giving us the final, pre-Life briefing.  It goes something like this:

In order to enter LIFE, you will all be required to wear one of these skin-suits.  They are regulation issue, but you’ll find they will adapt to fit the body you select with only minor stretching and wrinkling as you move through the various stages of The Game.

Your suit is equipped with seven ‘energy dials’ or ‘chakra points’.

In the ‘closed’ position, these will cut you off completely from all links, memories and contact with Eternity.  You’ll forget who you are and why you’re there.  You’ll be on your own out there – and it can be a very rocky ride.    It means you’ll get 100% Earth experience – all the shocks and jolts, the bumps and bruises and you’ll have NO IDEA what is going on or what you are doing there until you finish The Game.

On the other hand, if you open every dial wide and try to play The Game without any filters, you’ll be completely overwhelmed by the experience.  You’ll go crazy.  Seriously.  No one has ever done that.  Remember that in your present state you are pure energy – pure light.  Think carefully about how much of that you will be able to tolerate within The Game.

We’d suggest a happy medium… but then it’s YOUR game and you get to choose the way you want to play.

English: Kiddie swinger ride at Six Flags Over...

Enjoy the ride!

 

 

 

And here I am.  And so are you.

Wrapped securely in our skin suits, we’ve adjusted those energy dials and decided just how much of Eternity we want to remember, and just how far we want to cut ourselves off from ‘Who We Really Are’.

The suits are fairly flimsy and transparent, usually, at the very start and end of Life.  Memories and experiences drift through.  In the middle of The Game, though, the skin suits can be as thick as rhinoceros hide.  They can shield us completely from all ideas of Eternity and the reason we’re here.  Sometimes, because they’re invisible, we even forget that we have those chakra dials.

On the other hand, we’ve all come across people trying to play Life with many of their dials wide open.  They’re experiencing different realities, multiple levels of existence and being bombarded by sensory experiences so extreme, they often sit hunched in their skin suits, cowering from the enormity of trying to bring eternity into The Game – blinded by the light.

How did you set your dials?

6 comments on “Extreme Gaming – How Are You Playing Life?

  1. Nice reading about you

    Thanks for visiting my blog. Be in touch. Browse through the category sections, I feel you may find something of your interest.

  2. I love your analogy of life being a game. Once upon a time, I was using hypnotherapy to help figure out why I have always been an emotional eater, and am currently quite overweight. During a few sessions with one hypnotherapist, he regressed me back to the initiation of a particular feeling (that set me off, eating). In 3 separate sessions, I ended up in a small room, looking at my spirit guide and me. We were planning the life I was about to enter into. The experience was quite unexpected, and very validating, that we participate in choosing lessons we want to learn while we are living in a physical body. And I also knew that when we die, it is we who stand in judgment of ourselves. We watch back over the life we just lived, and see how we did in our lessons. Did we get them? Is there one that we need to revisit next time around? Should we switch up some of the roles and dynamics during the next lifetime, so that we might have a better chance at learning that lesson? It was amazing for me.

Leave a Reply

