Autistic by any other name?

I don’t often reblog my posts, but yesterday I was sent this link https://www.surveymonkey.com/s/describing_autism to a survey being conducted in the UK by the National Autistic Society, who are finally considering changing their way of describing people who are on the autistic spectrum. Perhaps (preferably after reading my blog!) you may wish to share your own views with the society.
Jan x

Looking at Life

I know I’m not alone in being neurotypical but utterly fascinated by the autistic mind. (How many other people loved Spock the best on Star Trek?) I want to explain why this way of being seems to me so interesting and exciting.

Let me begin by saying I have a big problem with many of the names/labels applied to people whose minds work this way.

I’m not wild about the word Autism. The first bit’s fine – it’s from the Greek ‘autos’ meaning ‘self’, and I’m quite happy to think of my autistic friends and contacts as being very unique individuals. It’s the ‘ism’ tag I don’t like. -Isms imply a lack or limitation, whether they are medical or social in origin: thus dwarfism and autism can be lumped with sexism or racism. They’re ugly words implying an inability to reach a desired potential. I’m with the wonderful and inspiring…

View original post 1,187 more words

Leave a Reply

