June at Lime Cottage

June gardenChurch bells woke me from a deep sleep this morning.

Thoughts gradually began to form:

Sunday……………

first day of June…………….

sun’s shining…………..

love thyself…………….

Not sure where that last one came from, or why it arrived with the King James Bible language.  Something to do with those church bells, maybe?

At any rate, the advice seemed good.  I neatly stashed a whole pile of ‘shoulds’ at the very back of my mind, ran a deep bubble bath and asked myself what I’d most like to do on this glorious morning.

The answer was there at once.  Head off to Lime Cottage and do some gardening.

I still don’t live there.  I’m waiting for the conservation team at the local council to give me consent to have the leaky roof and the great gaping hole in the ceiling fixed.  Until then I’m sleeping, eating and working in the little rented town centre house and spending every spare minute at the cottage, stripping off wallpaper and flaking paint.

Not today, though.  Today was a day to enjoy my new garden.

poppies

It’s been almost six years since I’ve had a garden of my own.  I simply don’t have the words to express the joy I felt plunging my hands into the deep, dark loam and rescuing buried violas and straggling euphorbias from rampaging bindweed and goose grass.

The aquilegias and forget-me-nots are just past their best now, but the roses and chives look wonderful together, and love-in-a-mist and margarites are flowering in drifts right through the garden.

damsel flyI watched honeybees and their huge bumbling cousins visiting foxgloves and electric-blue damsel flies basking on hollyhock leaves and nibbling delicately at the parsley flowers.

Herbs, fruit bushes, wild flowers and cottage garden plants live together here in a glorious, tolerant medley.

Who knows how many generations ago they first arrived?  Some planted perhaps by the owners of the 17th century clay tobacco pipes I find fragments of wherever I dig in the soil.

foxglovesSo yes – finally – after years of wishing and hoping, I once more have a garden of my own.  I won’t be putting my own stamp on it, though.  This beauty and exuberance has taken centuries to form.

I will be this garden’s willing custodian – trimming back the grass and honeysuckle, encouraging the shyest plants and checking the most rampant, but basically allowing it to delight and surprise me as every new month brings fresh pleasures.

The photos were all snapped there on my i-pod this morning.

Happy June from Lime Cottage, everyone.

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
12 comments on “June at Lime Cottage

  1. so beautiful-what we Yanks think of as the perfect English cottage garden.
    It has taken care of itself all these years and just needs some serious sorting out from you.
    Have fun!

  2. Happy June to you too, what a perfect way to spend the day, I love your sentiment towards your garden knowing it will repay you in kind 🙂

  3. What a glorious start to the summer for you, Jan! I love June and can’t think of a better gift than such a beautiful garden as yours to start this most magical month of the year 🙂 I’m sure your hands will heal the earth around you and LIME cottage will be ready to welcome you properly in no time at all! With love and thanks for such an uplifting post! Meliza xx

    • I’m so glad you find it uplifting, Meliza. Yes, I feel more ‘at home’ every time I go there. Hours later, I still feel blissed out from the beauty of the place. Thank you for your thoughts and wishes. They help the LIME magic to continue ❤

  4. Your garden is really beautiful and I know you will get much pleasure from the flowers and their scent and seeing the bees gathering pollen. Most of all, when you are moved in and settled, how lovely it will be to sit in the morning sun with a cup of green tea, gazing over this lovely place! 🙂

  5. How glorious to have such a garden there. I must have had such a garden in another lifetime in the UK because I’ve always loved the thought of an English garden. Here in Washington, we have foxgloves that grow wild by the side of the roads and here and there on my property. But trying to create a flower garden has proved to be an exercise in frustration, with hundreds and hundreds of slugs waiting to munch what I plant. We also have regular deer and rabbits in our yard. So, through trial and error, I’ve learned and am still learning what works here (putting things in pots and hanging them high) and what doesn’t. Thanks for sharing your garden; it’s beautiful.

    • Hi Susan! My garden also has a massive slug and snail population – more than I’ve seen in any garden I’ve ever owned. I think the sheer volume of plants means that there’s plenty of food for my eyes and their tummies! I’m also hoping that as I clear the undergrowth and expose their hiding places, the local bird population will be able to feast on the slugs! Jx

Leave a Reply

