The Proof is Out There

IMG_20151205_070812A very quick post script to my previous post.

The book arrived and was printed just the way I’d hoped it would be.  I’m feeling so grateful that the whole project has worked out exactly as I hoped it would.  Back to expecting and receiving miracles.

Life really is magical when we allow it to be.

The Words of William: Volume One is now available on at least some Amazon sites.

So for anyone who enjoys short but deep paperbacks filled with musings on metaphysics and psychic phenomena, written from within the wonderful world of autistic spectrum perception, it is available:

here in the United Kingdom

and here in the United States.

(You can click on the links above to go straight to the book’s sales pages on Amazon.)

 

Also still available in Kindle format.

 

12 comments on “The Proof is Out There

  1. Oh! Jan, no offense intended but the label ‘autistic spectrum disorder’ is such a slap. It boxes a person within a limited space and seals it with a label. People already are filled with ideas about what that label means and it ranges from meaning retarded and weird to really ridiculous connotations, having no real understanding but forming impressions as and how they fancy! (I react to that label because I may be falling into that range too, not formally diagnosed, but I love me for who I am and what I bring into the world, but a label is a limiter). Any label for that matter tends to have that effect on people. I was hoping that with your ability to articulate the not-so-easy, even esoteric, and have the idea be consumable that perhaps introducing The Words of William in paperback (seeing that it comes from, per your description, a very private person who agreed to ‘speak up’ to the masses’ listening) would be maybe delabeling, maybe even allowing for the label to dawn on the reader only after the fact of reading the material thereby allowing for the label to have a new world of meaning hitherto unthought of for the reader, not have their possibility of reading be filtered by the label. (Kindly excuse the liberty I seem to have taken of chiding, for want of a better word, about the writing. It is strange that with having read through your blogs with you having commented on and off on mine, you seem to be familiar to me in my mind even though we have not met, funny how that happens, and here I am, an otherwise reticent person, taking the liberty to comment on what I think is important but needs dared be spoken!)

    • I wanted to comment briefly to you atxero, because I have a son who is nearly on the autism spectrum (and who shares a lot of qualities nevertheless, to a lesser degree). And here in the US (or anywhere for that matter), if a mother whose child has received a diagnosis of ASD (autism spectrum disorder) can understand that her child, who she may see only as disordered, and having a lot of difficulties, is more likely a brilliant little being, it will positively affect how she relates to her child. And that in and of itself can change the course of its life. From what I have learned through several intuitive people and books, children who wear the label ASD are actually advanced beings. And I see Jan as helping to get that out there, while at the same time respecting Will’s privacy as he wishes. About 5 years ago, I met people who were able to see my son’s brilliance and let me know about it. At the time, all I could see was a child who had difficulty every day, and who, quite frankly, wore me out often. Being given a new set of lenses through which to see my son literally helped change the trajectory of his life for the better. I am sharing Will’s book, along with the fact that he wears this label, to encourage mothers of younger versions of Will, that their children are not disordered, despite what our medical community says (while doing everything to support their child using various therapies), but to look for their brilliance because it is there. I continually tell my son that he is amazing, he may be different. And different is good.

      • Thank you, Mariner2mother, for elaborating on what I have been thinking on the topic since quite some time, and resonates with what had me write the comment in the first place (miscommented, more like it, from not having read Jan’s words properly, but also triggered by preconditioned notions about the topic fed in through societal misperception/conditioning). Please accept my apology for having you be concerned from my comment on Jan’s behalf, but I also note that my comment inspired (instigated?) you to reveal more about this topic from a mother-of-a-subject perspective, which enriches that which Jan is attempting to communicate, I think.

      • I could tell that you were triggered. As a mother, I could feel your pain. No apology necessary. Because of my son, my life changed in some most extraordinary ways. I wish you well.

    • Do please take another look, Atxero. The words I used – most carefully – were ‘autistic spectrum PERCEPTION.’
      For many years I have been the fiercest of opponents of anyone who labels this way of being as a ‘disorder’. I agree 100% with everything you have said. Indeed, if you take a look back at a post I wrote some years ago: https://janstoneblog.wordpress.com/2013/01/11/autistic-by-any-other-name/
      you will see why I use the term ‘Autistic Spectrum Perception’.

      I did think – long and hard – about whether to mention Will’s diagnosis in the book blurb and these posts. I was very tempted to leave it out and – as you say – allow readers to form their own opinions on his way of perceiving the world. You have actually articulated my mental processes very accurately! There were two reasons I finally decided to mention it. One is that Will sees himself and those on the spectrum as having a significantly different way of receiving, processing and explaining information and part of his decision to publish was to get that way-of-being out there to the rest of the population. The second is that by mentioning the label, people with an interest in the spectrum – either as insiders, relatives or those who wish to understand – are drawn to look at, and learn from it.

      There is so much negative rubbish spoken about the imagined limitations of ASP, I wanted Will’s book to add to the growing body of excellent literature which blows that myth apart and allows the neuro-typicals to glimpse entirely new ways to perceive life, to give hope and support to those who sometimes feel themselves misunderstood and trapped by the diagnosis and attitudes of others, and to allow parents of children with such diagnoses to begin looking for the wonder and creativity their offspring can give to the world, if only they are given the opportunity.

      I will quickly add that the label ASD does appear in one article in the book. It was written by William and I didn’t feel justified in altering his words in this case, since the whole thrust of the article was the differences between what he sees as the two populations.

      I do hope I’ve reassured you and hope that anyone else who reads your comment will gain new understanding from the points you have made. They need reiterating often.
      No offence taken, my friend, and I hope you’ll accept this as an apology for the hurt you were inadvertently caused.

      • Thank you, Jan, for bringing my attention to what was obviously there for me to look with just a little more attention (embarrassed). I must admit that the brain tends to fill-in-the-blanks with just the suggestion of something – I read autism spectrum..and my brain filled in ‘disorder’ from habituation. I guess it takes some reiteration before the word perception has a space as a possible new to be associated with the word autism spectrum. Would you pls consider highlighting or making the word perception stand out a little more prominently whenever you do write about this (until perhaps some dictationary in the world out there picks up and includes this as a valid alternative to ‘disorder?’).

        In retrospect, I realize that my comment was also guided by a bludgeoning need to protect what is possible by a person (who in my estimate is the newest drop of stardust into consciousness) who has something to offer to All That There Is in some way or the other and whose expression could get limited by labels and perception therefrom. I did not know until now on how much this has been important to me and how my interactions with people has been moderated by this undercurrent.

        It is very kind of you to have elaborated on the thinking behind the writing and your inquires. Glad to be able thusly to get to know that, like me, there are people like you who are in an attempt to bring forth what is not already there as existing to be thought about. Glad also to know that there are deeper currents guiding your thinking and writing (obviously) but sometimes it takes something for the senses to be able to grasp what the heart/soul or whatever knows intuitively, and words as expounded in your reply gives that palpability. Please accept my apology for having touched you in such a way that such deep, otherwise-not-revealed thinking felt needed to be expressed. I am also moved that you consider the commentators of your blogpost to be important enough to be responded to wholesomely (it takes courage I guess to have the Comments be openly typed without needing to be backend approved before allowing to be posted…and that is the ‘little me’ speaking amazed at something that is not little and thinking maybe there need not be such littleness). Much apprectiate.

      • One thing I love about blogging, Atxero, is the conversation which can be sparked in discussions that follow; in this case far more fascinating than the short, fairly dull initial post! I’ve so enjoyed reading your carefully constructed responses and I will certainly take on board your suggestions about making my terminology very clear in future. I suspect that the whole vexed subject of labels and their uses will trigger a new post soon!
        You have absolutely no need to apologise or feel embarrassed. You speak from the heart and wish only to help and inform others. That is to be applauded and welcomed.
        With warmest wishes, Jan

      • Such a soulful response to my comment! Glad, again, that I follow your blog. It is a pleasure getting to know you, Jan.

        Warmest regards,
        Bitha (atxero)

Leave a Reply

