Back on the Giants’ Shoulders

I hadn’t meant to clamber back up here – I’m not actually that good with heights – but a whole crowd more giants just came along and I can’t resist.  The view from this lofty location is amazing!

I’ll start aloft the shoulders of John Milton.  I first encountered him when I was about 15:  Paradise Lost, book something-or-the-other as an exam text.  Wild, rambling, epic 17th century poem!  I kind of forgave Milton for being a harsh, narrow-minded religious fundamentalist who bullied his daughters when I started to dig below the surface of his work.  For a start, his Adam was an insufferable prude, while Eve was as wet as washday.  Satan, on the other hand, was deliciously complex and rather likeable.  I decided that Milton, like many of his contemporaries who had survived Civil War torn England and its dangerous aftermath, had a public face and a private mind.  What clinched it for me though was when I decided to read the rest of Paradise Lost – the bit our teacher said we needn’t bother with.

Satan on his way to bring about the downfall o...

Satan on his way to bring about the downfall of Adam. Gustave Doré’s illustration for Paradise Lost by John Milton. 

 

  • The secrets of the hoary deep, a dark
  • Illimitable ocean, without bound,
  • Without dimension; where length, breadth, and height,
  • And time, and place, are lost; where eldest night
  • And chaos, ancestors of nature, hold
  • Eternal anarchy, amidst the noise
  • Of endless wars, and by confusion stand.
  • For hot, cold, moist, and dry, four champions fierce,
  • Strive here for mastery, and to battle bring
  • Their embryon atoms

 

That description of  ‘outer space’, with all its seething, pulsing energy filled me with excitement.  It was so different to the sterile void of which our science teachers sought to convince us.  I decided this was the universe I preferred to inhabit – one where anything and everything could happen.

And so the scene was set.  I had my raw material.  All I needed now was to understand the process by which order could be imposed on the seething ether and those ’embrion atoms’ which held the potential to bring forth our cosmos.

English: nikola tesla color

A short pause while I wobble unsteadily and clamber onto the rather suave shoulders of Nikola Tesla.  His mind had been running along similar lines, but in an intellectual sphere way beyond my own.  Look on his words (from the New York Times, 1908), ye Mighty, and tremble…

“According to an adopted theory, every ponderable atom is differentiated from a tenuous fluid, filling all space merely by spinning motion, as a whirl of water in a calm lake. By being set in movement this fluid, the ether, becomes gross matter. Its movement arrested, the primary substance reverts to its normal state. It appears, then, possible for man through harnessed energy of the medium and suitable agencies for starting and stopping ether whirls to cause matter to form and disappear. At his command, almost without effort on his part, old worlds would vanish and new ones would spring into being.”

Right.  So that gives me the process.  Next I need to locate the ‘suitable agencies’ Tesla speaks of.  I’m drawn to some words from my gigantic friend William’s recently published book.  He makes an astounding claim which seems eerily close to Tesla’s, though coming from an unexpected direction:

Nederlands: zelf gemaakte foto

An experienced and sufficiently enlightened user could use a pair of dowsing rods to achieve anything one desires.   The rods can harness power from crystals and ley lines as well as any other energy source including pure psychic energy. The rods can alter the subatomic structure of the universe. They can provide interaction with different dimensions. They can provide the user with unlimited knowledge. They can alter events occurring all around the universe. If a user has accumulated enough experience and skill with dowsing rods they could have influence over all of space and time.

Now two of my giants are promising limitless creative experience if this energy is harnessed by an ‘experienced and sufficiently enlightened user’.  There always seems to be a catch, doesn’t there?

Perhaps I need some hard scientific credentials here, so I’ll crawl across to the sturdy shoulders of Max Planck – just about the most solid and respectable theoretical physicist you could hope to find.  (I was in the same form at school as his great-nephew, as it happens.  It was bizarre – a little like finding yourself in the same class as Harry Potter on your first day at Hogwarts.  None of us could understand why the classroom door kept swinging open during our first week, as members of the teaching staff would poke their heads around it and hiss at our form tutor, “Which one is he?  Just had to take a look.”)

Anyhow, what does Herr Planck have to say on the matter of atoms and their creation?  He wrote this in Florence, in 1944, a few years before his death:

Dr. Max Planck

As a man who has devoted his whole life to the most clear headed science, to the study of matter, I can tell you as a result of my research about atoms this much:  There is no matter as such.  All matter originates and exists only by virtue of a force which brings the particle of an atom to vibration and holds this most minute solar system of the atom together.  We must assume behind this force the existence of a conscious and intelligent mind.  This mind is the matrix of all matter.

Ah.  So we are closer still.  Imposed upon our seething mass of ether is a matrix – one which is conscious and intelligent.  Is this Consciousness some supreme creator or does it, potentially at least, emanate from ourselves?  Those who have read my book will know that I consider the two to be one and the same, at different fractal scales.  Just as Planck’s atoms are fractal solar systems, so are we fractal Source/All That Is.  It is consciousness which is the missing component in Milton’s chaotic ether.  It is consciousness which begins Tesla’s spinning motion or wields Will’s dowsing rods.

These ideas are familiar – astonishingly so.  They have been bombarding my mind via other sources for several weeks now.  Everywhere I look or listen, it seems, the revelations of my giants have echoes.

Has Atxero (for example) been clambering around atop these same giants, I wonder, or are we simply accessing the same ‘knowing’ within our all-seeing matrix?  In her latest, amazing blog post she speaks of

…an invisible energy moving through the universe in the wake of which everything comes into existence and everything spirals around onward …  If we consider that that invisible energy is Consciousness (like, mother of all consciousness) that is also an intention set in motion … so lets say the mind of the Universe had the urge to create something and in wake of this urge the Universe was created. (I am considering the Universe to be alive, complete with the soul and mind and body and the whole package, where each of the existing material bodies as even planets, galaxies or human bodies … just like we have cells in our body). That that invisible energy is the life force of the Universe.

So how, exactly, do we control it? I hear you ask.  How do we spin that ether and create in the way your giants have promised we can?

I think I have the answer.  I need to consider for a few days more, though, to sort the ideas into words.  So forgive me for leaving so suddenly.  All the information we need is here, but it’s been hiding in the one place scientists would never think of looking.

Can you find it? 🙂

 

 

19 comments on “Back on the Giants’ Shoulders

  1. You know, I never cease to be baffled at how your minds work. Why not just save yourself the trouble, and cut Gordian’s proverbial knot? it’s really simple. Understanding and knowledge are not the same thing. If you want to understand it, I would recommend theosophical literature. I have found it fascinating.

    • When I speak of ‘knowing’, I refer to what the Greeks termed gnosis – a place where knowledge and understanding meet.
      You have every right to be baffled, my friend, but honestly it is not ‘trouble’; the striving is the stuff of life. Theosophy holds some of the answers. There are, I suggest, more. 🙂

      • Ah. Gnosis. I know what you are saying. That’s what I was trying to explain. there is an understanding that I have reached that can’t be expressed with words. There is this Philosopher, Alan watts that I found a few years. after listening to him, I started to really get it.
        And then I saw that same idea expressed everywhere. It’s all the same. All ONE. And yet not. It makes my mind spin. And that is not an easy feat to accomplish. Why is a tree considered separate from the earth and yet a rock is not? Where does ones neck end and the head begin?

        And that Is when Things get really strange.

  2. You are clearly enjoying putting this puzzle together. I have always thought we are all born to have fun, and then to have fun creating..just like kids..using our imagination and dashing dots, and then playing legos where we put ours and others’ ideas together and form constructs that makes sense (that is for the more grown up kids of course) and then execute them responsibly (as adults). Much excited to see how your thinking has gotten vivified and sparkly even, if that is the word; wonder if it is the course or love! 🙂

  3. I love your amalgamation, your synthesis. In answer to how do we control it? I believe it’s through our heart space via our deeply held beliefs. I come to this conclusion based on my own personal work of changing my deeply held beliefs, which has changed my world, literally. I also believe the only way we can control or create is through direct experience. As I was reading your piece, what popped into my mind was Matrix Energetics; a consciousness technology that aims to create change by accessing different possibilities. I’ve taken 2 four day workshops and they were truly mind expanding. The tools can be used to create change of any sort at all that is desired. The key is dropping into the heart (to the place of non-duality) when accessing other possibilities. I can’t wait to read your next installment!

  4. Once you tap into the consciousness that starts it all, so much of the mysterious just works – dowsing rods, tarot, pendulums, good parking, perfect wait-staff, easy freeway driving…. The physics gets very mysterious very quickly. I don’t have to understand it all to be able to access that consciousness for my own use and education. Thanks for an enjoyable post!

    • Yes, you make an excellent point. It does ‘just work’. That realisation is what set me off on the quest to understand why. You’re right though – it works anyway once we can tap in.

      • I have had to accept that I don’t always know why things work, just they they do. It’s the same with my car, the microwave, and aspirin. The difference is that with everyday items, we trust that someone else knows, so it isn’t weird. With metaphysics, it’s different.

  5. So is enlightenment a necessary component to using the dowsing rod? Quite fascinated by this idea. I’ve been meditating but saw some weird stuff the first time.. namely the resonating buddha and a version of me with a third blue eye. ANYWAYS.. weird stuff aside. I think i should continue this meditation because i heard from a friend that in Hinduism they mark the spot on their forehead to signify auspiciousness meaning your future is in good hands or something. But my friend was also saying the eye is used to see things that are normally unseen.

    I’m not sure about getting enlightened but– meditation is really relaxing and beneficial despite the fact that you can. I actually started a meditation program last week where they have hooked up meditating buddhist monks to have them analyzed and used to program mind trance programs that get you into a meditative state despite your inconsistencies/incompetence in getting into that state. It’s called InnaPeace if you are interested. http://www.brainwave-research-institute.com/my-innapeace.html

    I look forward to hearing more about your developments. But if consciousness is all you need to use the dowsing rod correctly then you’re all set. If not then i guess better get your meditation in gear and force out a enlightenment. It probably doesn’t work that way, but good luck anyhow. =-)))

    • I’m glad the meditation is proving a positive experience, Nam.
      When I’ve taught people to dowse, I explain that the rods or pendulum are a little like a lie detector – they just make what is going on inside us more visible. So the way I see it, the dowsing rods are not the important bit. It’s the state of mind (or level of enlightenment) of the individual holding them that makes the difference. Oddly, I was having a discussion on exactly this with Will yesterday. He wanted me to make that point clear, so thank you for giving me the opportunity to do so! Hopefully my next post will explain fully 🙂

  6. Pingback: Still with the Giants… | Looking at Life

Leave a Reply

