Savant

Fire, Open, Hot, Old, Paper, BurnSometimes all I need to organise the thoughts tumbling randomly around my head is the right words to express them.  Once the thoughts can latch on to words, they can be verbalised and shared.

So my Seth reading this week has focused around what he defines as the two methods of obtaining knowledge available to us humans:  There is the ‘reasoning mind‘ (human mental activity in a space and time context) and ‘immediate knowledge‘ (what I’d term access to the Akashic Field).

I noticed two things in particular in his complex and brilliant explanation.  Firstly, despite existing ‘out of time/space’ Seth himself does NOT put down the reasoning mind.  On the contrary, he says it is a unique and brilliant process, which makes us human.  He adds that we only have a reasoning mind because we don’t know everything.  It is our lack of knowledge that makes us attempt to reason things out, and our achievements have been, and continue to be, truly remarkable.

The second thing I noticed is that in his book (written in the late 1970s/ early ’80s) he makes surprisingly little mention of the human ability to access the immediate knowledge he speaks of.  He explains how a spider spinning a web or a beaver building a dam are not following ‘blind instinct’ as science would have us believe, but without the ‘reasoning mind’ to get in the way, they are performing creative acts based on the overarching ‘immediate knowledge’ that is available to all of consciousness.  Fantasy, Castle, Cloud, Sky, TowerWe humans connect with it in infancy (before reasoning takes over) and in dreams, he says.  However the enormity of what we experience in dreams is too much for the reasoning mind to process, so it either forgets or turns the fragments of knowing into symbols which it can process.

Would it be different if Jane Roberts were still alive and channelling him today?  I suspect it would.  I suspect that humanity has undergone subtle changes in consciousness over the last 40 years.  As a teacher/tutor for most of those years, I watched with wonder and delight as each new intake of children contained increasing numbers who were still very much in touch with – and able to access – ‘immediate knowledge’.  The authorities often labelled these children as having syndromes and disorders, so difficult was it for the educational psychologists to understand that there were other ways of knowing beyond reasoning.  I, on the other hand, have always loved working with such kids, learning from them and picking up from them ways to get back in touch with the immediate knowledge which exists beyond time and space.

Light, Staircase, Lighting, ArchitectureThen, quite suddenly, Seth used the word ‘savant’ and another piece of knowledge fitted into the puzzle.  The word has usually been applied (and was used in that context in his book) to non-verbal autistic people who demonstrate incredible skills or feats of memory – super fast mathematical calculations, drawing whole city sky-scapes from memory, playing an instrument without any tuition and so forth.  I smiled, remembering the 8-year-old aspie I once taught who had ‘memorised’ an entire two page list of phone numbers he had seen once in his home, and had run up a huge phone bill for his parents by calling all these people for a chat!

So I’d argue that – since around 1980 in particular, but in smaller numbers before that time – we have been fortunate enough to share our lives with a group of people who are managing (not without difficulty and stress, I might add) to live physical lives yet to keep open a link to the ‘immediate knowledge’ that is Akasha or The Cosmos, and is entirely limitless.

Let me finish with a Will story:  A few weeks ago, my brilliantly ‘connected’ aspie friend Will had told me that he sometimes feels he ‘knows’ things about people he passes in the street.  He’d not been able to verify his knowledge, so more-or-less dismissed it.  However it just so happened that we were contacted by a gentleman in the US who asked whether Will could identify a medical condition he was suffering with and give him some guidance on what caused it.  Not only did Will correctly pinpoint a condition affecting this man, he also formed a mental image of what he looked like.  When I later Googled the man and found and sent Will a photo, he said that was markedly similar to what he had seen.

Curious, I then sent him the name of a friend of mine – someone he has never met or heard me speak of.  Within minutes, he told me she had black, shoulder length hair, described the decor in her home, told me she had mobility problems which particularly affected one side of her body and identified that she was having particular stresses at this time with her children.  Everything he said was 100% accurate.

THAT was ‘immediate knowledge’ – no reasoning involved.

 

 

10 comments on “Savant

  1. I love where your mind goes. Thanks for bringing us along on your journey of curiosity. I find it sad that today, society has moved so very far into the age of reason that we deny our inherent ability to just know things and to connect to that ability. Like being required to show all work when doing math instead of appreciating the child who can consistently and correctly intuit the answer.

    One thing I’ve discovered that constantly messes up the rational thinking mind is our belief set, and in particular our subconscious beliefs. In digging around in my own subconscious beliefs, I’ve discovered how many I’ve carried that have been doing me a disservice in some way or another. They were all created by the rational mind, and made perfect sense when they were created. But later on in life, because they were not created in alignment with my truth, they have been causing pain, dysfunction, and in some cases, outright disease.

    • I think you’ve hit on a key point here, Sue. The rational mind does the best it can, given the knowledge it has at the time. It’s only when we start to engrave that information on tablets of stone and treat it as incontrovertible truth that we get into trouble. It’s MEANT to change and adjust as our experience grows (unlike the other sort of ‘knowing’ which is all there from the start, of course).

  2. Surely you had thought of Will as being a savant before now? Think of all the good he could do, if he wanted to , with people who have undiagnosed medical problems. Of course, being who he is, he would have to work through you. Is there anyone else he trusts or communicates in this way with? What a gift-does he think of his powers that way?

    I once in a while am getting messages, as I did today ,that you are sharing a link, but for some reason it is hard for me to pick those up, altho I did today-very funny. Can you send those via email or in my message box onFB ?

    Thanks,

    Wendy

    • I hadn’t actually put Will and ‘savant’ together in my mind before now but there’s certainly a relationship (it adds to, rather than defining him, as he’s so much more as well and has an excellent, functioning ‘reasoning mind’ too).
      Yes, I am the only person he works with or shares this stuff with at present, although I’d like to see that extend to others as his confidence grows. When I ask if he sees it as a gift, I usually get a response like, ‘I suppose.’ But he’s always happy for me to blog about him and share his talents this way, so I think he does. Just a few self-esteem issues to work through…!
      I’m not sure how the messages about a new article reach people who aren’t logged in to WordPress. If you scroll right to the very bottom of this page there should be a box on the right you can click that says you’d like an email each time I post something new. If that doesn’t work, I’ll try to remember to let you know xx

  3. I would strongly suspect will’s Knowledge would be linked to his practice of remote viewing. In developing this, he has gained other senses. Ugh. I feel a pressure on the mind ascessing that. It feels like a looming mountain just beyond my mind. I can’t do something like that, but I always can sense a person’s nature just by looking at them.
    Some days I wonder if this “hardware” (brain/mind) is insufficent to fully express our consiousness.

    • That’s an interesting thought, Sage. Yes, I think Will feels the same – kind of like the more you exercise certain muscles, the stronger they become.

      Could that ‘looming mountain’ be the ‘immediate knowing’ described above? I get a pressure around the back of my head when I access it sometimes, too – especially when I’m trying to ignore it and some portion of me wants me to take notice!

      As for the ‘hardware’ that links the two types of knowing… not ideal! I think (in physical terms) it’s called the corpus callosum and I have read that it is structured differently in neurotypical and ASP populations, so I suspect it is evolving – quite rapidly – to allow us to access All That Is more easily.

  4. An American movie entitled The Men Who Stare at Goats depicts the U.S. Government’s attempt to harness this knowing. (Note that it is a comedy rendering.) They had inconsistent success and stopped the program in the ’90’s. I wonder how it would have turned out had they recruited the ‘Wills’ of the world?

    • Indeed! I’ve heard about the film, though never seen it, and I have read quite a bit about the US intelligence service program. I wonder why some of us are better at it than others….

      • I’ve always assumed that some are better at this connection than others in the same way that some can get a basketball through a hoop better than others, or have musical talent more than others. Your question causes me to pause and wonder whether there is something else, something obvious probably, that we are missing.

Leave a Reply

