Viewing the Future – Probably

It’s exactly a year since Will – my friend and remote viewing partner – started experimenting with viewing future events.

The strange but accurate scene Will viewed a week ahead.

To recap, briefly:  I’d asked him if he could view where I would be at a specific time, six days ahead of the date when the viewing took place.  I already knew where I would be, having a planned appointment, so it was a good chance for us to test out his viewing skills ahead of time.  Sure enough, he came up with several very specific features of the room I’d be in and the surrounding area.

Buoyed up by our success, we tried a second viewing the next week, in which, again, I was quite certain where I would be and – once more – he nailed it.  Obviously we were delighted with this proof that remote viewing seemed to work equally well for past, present and future events.  Nevertheless, it raised some interesting questions.

What if I had changed my mind in the intervening days and decided not to go where I had originally planned to be?  What if some misadventure had befallen me on my journey, preventing me from reaching my destination?  Was he viewing my intention, rather than my future reality?  Conversely, was it perhaps some kind of quantum effect?  Was he – in effect – peering into the box where Schrodinger’s unfortunate cat was suspended between possible outcomes and, by becoming the observer, collapsing the wave of probability and determining which would play out?

In short, once he had done the viewing, was my future then set in stone?  Clearly it wasn’t.  Obviously there would not be some supernatural force propelling me to the location he had viewed me in, if I decided to stay in bed that morning.  I still had free choice.  In which case, how was his viewing so accurate, given that the event was yet to take place?

We thought long and hard about all the ramifications and Will finally concluded that remote viewing must be connected to probability.  He felt that what he was seeing was the most probable place I would be on the target date and time.

Recently, I had been mulling over these ideas in my mind, wondering how we could refine our understanding of the processes involved.  By synchronicity, we hit upon the perfect test for his theory.

Train, Station, Tracks, CopenhagenI’d arranged to meet someone at a specific time and destination.  My journey involved two train rides, with a change at the massive Birmingham New Street Station during rush hour.  Because of that, I’d factored in a 25 minute transfer time at New Street.  However, there I was, on my first train, finding that it was running 20 minutes late and my transfer time was shrinking rapidly.

The odds of making my connection seemed to be about 50:50.  My train might or might not make up some time on the journey.  I might or might not locate and reach my next platform quickly.  There might or might not be delays caused by crowding on the escalators.  My second train might or might not also be delayed.

Instinctively, I messaged Will and told him I was unsure as to whether or not I would make a train connection and asked if he could view where I would be at 6:40 that evening – a short while after my final train was due to arrive.  If he saw me at my destination, I could relax, knowing I’d make it.  If he saw me on a train, though, I’d know it was likely I would miss my connection and be on a later one.

Tunnel, Corridor, Brick, The DarknessA few minutes later, he got back to me.  His viewing was unlike any we’d experienced.  He saw  ‘a long narrow dark area with rows of things along the side’.  There were no colours or identifying features, and we were both unsure what it meant.

In fact, I did make the rail connection.  My train arrived a little early, so that by 6:40 I was in my host’s home.  It had two adjoining rooms, with a narrow passageway through them and items of furniture to each side.  But one could argue that a train carriage is laid out in the same way.  He’d turned on the light when we got in, so it wasn’t dark.  Nor would a train carriage be.  Curious.

A day or two later, I was on another rail journey.  I decided to ask Will if he could view where I was.  This time his response was that I was on a train.  He saw it travelling through mountains and even told me the colour of the seats and the train’s livery.  All correct.  He was clearly still an expert at this.

So why the mysterious dark space in the other viewing?

Boats, Shoes, Fashion, Black And WhiteTo me it seems Will’s idea that probability is involved has been vindicated.  I’d asked him to view a future that was hanging in the balance.  The outcome depended on several factors, all beyond my control, and there was an equal chance that I would/would not catch the second train.  In that circumstance, it seems, Will was unable to pick up a clear indication of where I would be.  The long dark area could represent an uncertain future.  The items at the sides might be the two possibilities ranged along it.  Maybe, even, he was seeing both possible scenarios at once, superimposed on each other and thus darkening and obscuring his view.

Plenty to think about there, and I see it leading to more interesting experiments in the future – probably.

12 comments on “Viewing the Future – Probably

  1. Nice experiment! Won’t it be more meaningful if Will didn’t know about the probabilities beforehand? He could maybe be influenced in the clarity of his vision by the uncertainty of the target, and/or Jan’s uncertainty.

  2. Dear Jan,

    You maybe remember some comments we had already about remote viewing, free-will and models to think about. I’d like to present some ideas to your critical appreciation; maybe some could be of interest when thinking about new experiments.

    A suggestion for a more precise description of the place and time chosen for remote viewing.

    There is a significant difference between the recognition of a specific target when you live it and when a reader discovers your description. One is real life when the other is just symbols. I wondered if it could be possible to add a sort of objective confirmation that the good target has been described. An objective confirmation like a number that you would pick randomly, an Arcane from the Tarot…

    In practice, you could begin by asking William what type of target would be his best choice? For example, a well known autist (Asperger); Daniel Tammet (http://www.danieltammet.net/), works with numbers because they have a color, a feeling for him. He was able to give the order of more than 20’000 decimals of PI just by looking at their color in his mind’s eye! If William feels numbers like Daniel does, then you could pick one between 0 and 9 at random when you’re on the spot and let William view in advance what number it’l be by the feeling or the color he perceives.

    If he’s more sensitive to pictures and symbols than to numbers, why not pick an Arcane from the majors ones in a Tarot? It could maybe be described by Will as an addition to the description of the place.

    What do you think? Could this add some precision that could help readers to have a « Wow » reaction as the one you have when you read a description while being in the actual place?

    I came to this idea while thinking about experiments that would question the link between free-will and remote viewing. I understand that: « in order to ascertain that I still have some measure of ‘free will’, I will have to sabotage one of our experiments and stay at home when he’s seen me elsewhere, but I’d find that difficult to do. I’m so enjoying the results! » Therefore I’m currently looking for a protocol that won’t let you sabotage the experiment! I’ll present it later if I find a way. It’s the need to clearly distinguish 2 possible futures that led me to propose this suggestion with numbers or pictures. Do this seems interesting?

    Thank you for your blog and the mind-blowing discoveries you share!

    Very best wishes;

    Alain Rifat

    • Hi Alain,

      Thank you for all the thought you have put into this and the ideas you have had.

      When we first started testing various psychic skills, William and I tried working with a set of cards containing six symbols. Our success rate was very low and seemed to us little better than chance. We’ve also tried holding an object or photograph to see if the other could identify any of its features. Again, the results were not impressive.

      Admittedly, all that was several years ago, and perhaps his skills have now improved, but remote viewing of places worked far better for us. William seems particularly sensitive to topography and can pick up contours in the land and such features very easily. Tarot cards, though, are an interesting idea, and I have several decks we could use, so maybe one day…

      The reason I haven’t yet provided an account of our follow-up experiments in this area is that we have recently moved into more work on medical intuition. Will says this comes to him far more easily than even remote viewing or dowsing. He was keen to use his ability for something more meaningful and helpful than simply providing a ‘wow’ factor for people reading my blog. He is therefore very keen to practise and develop this skill.

      I’m sure I will be adding many more posts on the amazing work he does in all these areas.

      Thanks so much for your interest and appreciation of our work.

      With best wishes,
      Jan

Leave a Reply

